I dusted off the ol’ shuttles and threads and put myself to work on some tatting. After a few starts and stops and wasted threads I finally remembered how it is done again. 

In doing a heart pattern I decided to add to it and make a skeleton key design. I am pretty happy with it!

I made it with size 80 thread in varigated pink on one shuttle and moss green on the other. This one also has 3 beads, in place of the picots in the pattern.

In green

R 1-1-1-1-1-1, close

In pink

Ch 25

R 1-1-1-1-1-1, close

Ch 25 and join to the top at the first chain
Thread a long legth of green through the center picot of the bottom ring and work on it with the shuttle.

40 half stitches

With shuttle: R 3-3, close

Back to thread: ch3

With shuttle: R 4-4, close

With thread ch3

Tie off and sew in ends.

Stiffen with starch or mount and frame.


